Students and their type . . . I think

As usual, I’m at a loss for which students to use: not him because his disability will probably “get in the way”, not her because I don’t see her enough in classes, not him because I have yet to see him exhibit any behaviors, not her because I just can’t get a handle on her . . . and so it goes. I stuggled with this over a year ago, also. It makes me question my power of observation. Or shall I say lack of observation!

On the bus ride home today from Concord High I thought about MV (as I will call her). She is a teacher’s worst nightmare; she is almost my total opposite; she is the bane of my existance in the kitchen: the ESTP! 1. You know when she has entered the room 2. She doesn’t think the rules apply to her 3. Draws attention to herself 4. Can be a leader 5. Ready, Fire, Aim 6. No concern for people around her 7. Lives in the moment 8. Talks loudly 9. Can continue to work with multiple things going on around her 10. Finds the flaws in others 12. Has to have the last word, especially with authority 13. Doesn’t want limits or rules on her school work 14. Does what she wants to do, when she wants to do it, how she wants to do it, etc! The only thing I’ve seen her do “positively”, in my eyes, is take charge of the diningroom during a function and be great at it. She treated everyone with respect and caring and even teaching the 1st year students how to manage a diningroom situation. AND she is great with the special education student I work with in the kitchen. Again, treating him with respect and guiding him gently and positively when cooking or baking. But I keep reminding myself that we all need each other for balance 🙂

The other student I choose I will call Bee: ISFJ. I know for sure she’s Sensing because I did the “write about a snowman” activity and she talked about its carrot nose, indent for a mouth, and coal for eyes – detailed description. She is Introverted because she is very hesitant to get up in front of the class, can be reserved around peers she does not know, and when needing to work with a group, she prefers one partner over multiple peers to get the project done. Bee prefers Feeling. She definitely thinks of her friends first when making decisions. She is a great listener and her friends know that. I peg Bee as Judging. She makes plans, lists, likes structure to get things done, and organization in her school work. When I look on Page 31 in the text and see how school looks when it isn’t working for ISFJs it is right on for Bee: I see the helplessness when she’s uncertain in her school work. I can see her lack of confidence with abstract assignments.

This is still a hard “assignment” for me to do. But I feel better about my observations this year.

One response to “Students and their type . . . I think

  1. This is great Lynne. I agree with your assessment of “Bee”. According to your observation, she has the exact same personality type as me. That must be why I like her so much. 🙂 Where we were stuck talking about “Bee”, Marilyn made things much more clear in class on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

