Type Hypothesis

 

1/25/16 – 1/26/16

Extended Learning Block # 3   12:10- 12:40   Read Naturally 3 is my most challenging class of the day.  I have chosen two 7th grade boys from this class.  These are their stories:

Student 1    a.k.a.   Mischiever       E     N    T   P

Mischiever is an extrovert.    He waltzes into my class, often late, with excuses, but he is very cheerful about it. He wants to share why he’s late and then usually asks to use the bathroom or get a drink before he starts his folder work. In the meantime he has interrupted me and the other three boys who are attempting to get their work done.  Two other boys feed right into this, so I have to kindly redirect all of them to settle in.   Believer sharpens his pencil, invades the others’ spaces, and generally wastes 5 minutes of start time.  He begs with a whine to play Scrabble.  He loves Scrabble.  I only play Scrabble one Friday a month, or if there’s a sub in for me.  Scrabble is a reward, for getting your work done, I remind him.  He is looked upon as a leader because he was in the running for 7th grade class president, but did not win the primary.

Mischiever is an intuitive, because he is always willing to help someone else if their CD player isn’t working. If a student is confused, he is great at helping them with the problem if I am busy with another student. I do trust him in this, because is confident in the Read Naturally Process. He also does take advantage of the moments when I am giving timings with the others, because he knows I am not going to stop a timed reading to redirect him should he be off task.

Mischiever is a thinking type.  He loves to debate with me over facts and ideas within the readings.  He likes to have the last word and sometimes I let him have it, just so we can move on.  For example the word pneumonic was used in a story about how the presidential faces on Mount Rushmore were carved.  He pronounced it pe – neu-mon-ic, and insisted that’s what his dad’s friend called that kind of drill “down at the shop.”  Even after I googled Webster’s and showed him the word, he shook his head and refused to believe it.  Thinkers don’t like to lose face.  He loves to play Scrabble and hates to lose.   He was depressed when he didn’t win the presidential primary, but seemed to receive my condolences graciously.  He understands that he is on the lower end of the fluency spectrum compared to the average 7th grader, and I know this bothers him, so this is why is shuts down sometimes.

Mischiever is a perceiving type.  He may opt to listen to the CD more than the required number of times to avoid practice, or he says he’s “got it” on the first track.   Sometimes I have caught him listening to the radio instead.  Easy to do, these stories don’t often elicit head bobbing.  I locked that CD with the radio feature in my desk. He often has to skip my class to do make up work in other classes, a plan that we worked out with his teachers.  He sometimes misses my class to finish up in the science lab.  As a staff, we have to notify each other when this happens, because he has played us more than once, and has not shown up for any of us.  Some days, if I have been involved with the three others more than with him, he gets very little done.  He has difficulty managing his time to be successful. When he puts his timer away, he sets them all going, so after he is gone, his presence lingers with 8 timers beeping like baby chicks in my file drawer. I let this go as perceivers like work and play to coexist. I let him play.  The next class comes in and the first one to the drawer resets the cheeping timers.  They all know who does this.  They just shake their heads.

Student 2   a.k.a.      Achiever     I   S  F  J

Achiever is an introvert.  He is the quiet type, thoughtful and congenial.  He comes into my room, gets his folder and sits down to work.  He is patient while he waits for the other three boys to settle themselves, and he never buys into their extroverted behavior.  He is a master at tuning them out. He rarely makes any mistakes on his comprehension questions, and he advocates for himself when he needs help getting meaning from context.

Achiever is a sensing type.  The reading program is very formulated and structured, where expectations are written.  He appreciates the small flow chart that tracks his progress through the exercises and checks them off himself as he moves through the steps.  He especially enjoys the time when I google images of the things he is reading about, so he can see “the real thing” rather than the blurry photocopy image on his paper. (I do this with all my reading students.)  Today he read about the Leaning Tower of Pisa and was quite amused by all the pictures of people with their hands placed just so, to make it appear that they were keeping the tower from falling down.

Achiever is a feeling type.  He definitely makes exceptions for the other three boys in the class, and often gives me an eye roll or a sympathetic grin when I remind the others to focus on their work.   I think he could be a real hoot if he allowed himself to be, but I think he feels better about “being on my side” because he wants to be liked.  He is the Democratic nominee for president of the 7th grade class in their mock election, so I know it’s not just me appreciating his cooperative nature.

Achiever is a judging type.  He fell right into the reading program as if it were designed for him.  His plan of work was already laid out for him, and he was a quick study. Within the week, he had the process down.  His stature among his peers speaks volumes to his character.  He gave the best campaign speech in front of the entire grade level with no cue cards, he stood up straight and projected his voice, and used his hands for emphasis.  I could tell he really spent some time working through his speech and carefully planning what he would say and how he would say it.

I had the hardest time deciding whether this guy is an E or an I, and I concluded he was more introverted because of his work habits.  I thought perhaps he was a really polite and respectful extrovert, but observing him in the halls and in the cafeteria, he still retains a more introspective nature.   His speech was so great because he had time to plan it and execute it well, which gave him the confidence to get up in front of everyone.  He beamed from ear to ear.  He knew he nailed it.

Leave a Reply

