Reflection, Chapter 1 -3

Chapter one talks about the reasons teachers should understand their own preferences in learning styles and therefore their teaching styles. Once a teacher knows their own style they can better see which students will benefit from their most comfortable teaching style and how to change their approach for the students who are different from the teacher.  She or He can also then fashion their assessments for various styles so as to get a true picture of student knowledge. Since student knowledge and understanding is the goal not how the information is demonstrated. The learning of information, and the assessment of the information can be taught and assessed in various ways.

 

After completing chapter 2 It is confirmed that my personality type is Extraversion, Sensing, Feeling most of the time and Thinking some of the time as well as Judging. Although I gain energy through social visits, I also need solitude at other times. My biggest fear is to be left alone when I need to be with people. I also need facts before making good decisions. Before buying anything expensive I find the cost and attributes of the item then make a decision; as well as in my job, facts for a problem before a decision to solve the problem. I also want students to be competent in their work as well as have harmony. I don’t enjoy hearing how a student doesn’t like a subject because they don’t like the teacher. I also find it hard to convince a student not to sabotage themselves because they find a subject boring.  I find it hard to work with students who can’t get started on a project because they don’t see the value. I feel bad for them because I want them to succeed in their near future as well as their distant future. I also find planning everything makes the journey easier even when part of it just doesn’t work out and a detour needs to be made. As a student the unexpected consequence of a fallible plan use to drive me into a depression. As an adult it has just become part of the journey.

 

As I read through chapter 3 I could pick out which students might fit into each category.  In each class that I work in there is one student on my caseload that I find hard to reach, or mesh with. MO seems to waste his in class study time by socializing, yet when you talk to him about the class work he seems to know the material. Yet nothing is on the worksheet for him or his friend. She however does not have the same understanding of the material. He seems to be an Introverted Intuitive type. His friend seems to be an Extraverted Feeling type.  Although he is unorganized and sloppy he can be successful. She is organized and neat with her school work, yet isn’t as successful on assessments.
In another class KF   may be an Extraverted Thinking type. She doesn’t ask for help she demands my attention. Usually at the wrong times during a class. She also plans on not doing well on her assessments before she has even seen the assessment. Once I get her started she settles and often does well when she has studied on the information I have suggested she review.  I plan on watching these three students as we go through this course and see if I have made a correct assumption.

5 responses to “Reflection, Chapter 1 -3

  1. Rose, you have a good sense of yourself in your personal life as well as the school community. I am still working on sorting out the eight functions as well as navigating the blog! I have always been mindful of how my actions can affect the actions of others, especially when working with young people. The 8 functions are helpful in narrowing the scope of understanding when working in the classroom. It’s nice to have a blueprint, although not a rigid one. As we gain a better understanding of what type of energy drives us, as well as the driving energy of others, we can make adjustments as we grow and mature, so we are not constantly running off the road every time a road block confronts us. Sometimes our students do challenge us to try new strategies. I remember years ago, it has to be at least 15 now, a special ed teacher that I was working with was so frustrated with this math project he had designed for 3 boys who were really struggling. Behavior had become an issue. I had the joy of working with my reading students on the opposite side of the room, so I was ready for a change, believe me! I must have been his last resort, because he asked me my opinion, which was shocking, because that usually did not happen in the school climate at that time – collaboration between an aide and a teacher. I told him to explain to the kids that the project wasn’t working for any of them, and that they were going to try something different. It was okay to scrap it. It wasn’t a poor reflection of his teaching abilities at all. So he did. The next day the collective sigh from those 3 boys was like a Chinook wind. I also remember a second grade teacher coming into the teacher’s room during lunch, plopping herself down in the chair and declaring that the project she created was a total bomb. It takes guts to do that. As paras it is sometimes hard for us to advocate for a change in venue for some of our students because the teacher has a set plan, and it is difficult and time consuming for them to change it. As the caring mothers and grandmothers that we are, we have to resist wanting everyone to do well, when sometimes our students have to acknowledge, that yes, there are some assignments that are not the most interesting. I understand your frustration when the parameters of the classroom, space time, etc. get in the way of good ideas, and sometimes letting the kids take a few poor grades due to lack of effort is the right thing to do. The biggest concern is seeing the kids embark on a downward spiral. How do you pull up on those kite strings? How can we teach these kids to pull up their own strings?

    • This has been an interesting week as I have looked at others in a whole new light. I am enjoying all of your insights and you have made me think about my own experiences with more depth. I have also chosen a few students to track along the way, but I am also questioning how would a classroom look if it engaged all students. Although I think it’s possible to change our approach to allow for more student success, I can’t get passed the student who just doesn’t care. I spend a lot of time during the day with the extreme behavioral population and I find myself thinking that there is no way to get through to these kids. It becomes exhausting, especially as a feeling person, to work harder than they are willing to. Excuse me for being blunt, but is it possible that some people are just always going to be “jerks”, difficult no matter what you do? There are moments that I have a hard time buying anything else.

      • So I agree its been an interesting week! So many students that I look at differently now. Today we watched Newton’s Dark Secret. He was a private recluse who thought about everything in serious detail and calculated and recalculated until he was satisfied with his numbers. He also was a devout Christian and calculated when the Adam and Eve first walked the earth as well as calculated that Armegedon would be at 2060 by using the bible. In that short movie I have decided that he is Introverted, Intuitive, Thinking and Perceiving. So who is nuts?

        On Wed, Jan 20, 2016 at 6:05 PM, Differentiation Through Personality Types wrote:

        >

    • Thank you for your thoughts. I have no idea how to change what parents and teachers before us have ingrained. I only think that our kindness and consistency as well as good communication between teachers,para’s and students, as well as good classroom instruction may spark something in the student to want to try and then maybe succeed. Success is the only chance a kid has to change permanently.

      On Wed, Jan 20, 2016 at 5:24 PM, Differentiation Through Personality Types wrote:

      >

  2. I know this comment is a little late, please forgive. But you have some nice thoughts here. I’m impressed for the first week of class. Again, way ahead of where I was the first time I took this class 🙂 Once we have this knowledge of type it is hard not to look at students using type! But I also agree with Andrea: some kids can just be a pain in the butt 🙂 But we still do our job because of our type . . . and the millions we’re making!!

Leave a Reply

