Behavior strategies

As a para I often am conflicted as to what my role in behavior management is. I try not to undermine the teacher and disturb the flow of the lesson. However, I also have low tolerance for disruptive behaviors in the classroom. I like the quote on page 87 that “Type doesn’t explain everything”. My basic rule is check and what else is going on-lack of sleep, parents splitting up or lack of breakfast can contribute to the defiant behavior. Once I get a handle then I can redirect to get the work done. I have used the suggestions of asking a question instead of saying sit down and that seems to work. The student became more engaged and started to participate in a more positive way. It turned a potentially nasty interchange into a positive one.I work with students on a more one to one ratio and that gives me a chance to adjust the assignment in a study hall- work for 1/2 hour, five minute walk- or adjust the number of problems to do; odds or evens works well too. Making a list of expectations also works- limits the frustration of getting it completed. Alot of what I do during the course of a day is putting out fires!

3 responses to “Behavior strategies

  1. I also tried out the idea of asking a question as a way to respond to certain behaviors and it has been working well. I think it gives the student a moment to process what has happened and they don’t seem to become defensive as quickly (I am thinking of a particular student).

  2. Cathy, I wonder if you might try being direct with the teacher(s) you work with and asking them how much behavior management they are comfortable for you taking on. (That seems like a really awkward sentence — does it make sense?) Some teachers might be glad to turn it over to you, while others, not so much; I bet that depends on their type! I know at this point in the year it’s probably too late, but perhaps in the fall you might have those conversations. You could explain that since you took this course you have learned some effective new strategies that you’d like to try. That might open the door with some teachers to want to learn about type as well. And that “what else is going on” strategy is really important, as you probably have known for a long time. Putting out fires is important work!

  3. Cathy this helped me so much in understanding the assignment as my fear of doing this wrong freezes me. Which I also feel I make this harder than what it is. I have worked on a calmer approach with less words for certain students and I am amazed that this is working. Brilliant!!

Leave a Reply

