Ch 9 Differentiated Math & Science Instruction

I chose to read this chapter because I thought the math part would be interesting.  I am one of a few aides at JSR that can be put into math classes and actually handle the curriculum!   As I read about math anxiety, traits, and teachers it brought me back to my days of teaching Every Day Math. I really like the program. I like the way, that finally!, a math program actually taught the WHY to all these algorithms and not just, “do it this way because I said.”  I work with many math teachers now that are like that – just teach the rule and the students will be fine. And talk about differentiation! How many ways can we now perform all operations?  That means all students can find their way of getting to the right answer and actually understand why.  What a great concept!  The program never said we had to be experts at all algorithms – just learn them to find what fits. The chapter lost me, though, when it started talking about meeting the needs of the Feeling student J I am a thinking teacher and I know I struggle with remembering that the Feeling students need to know that I like them and that they need immediate feedback that’s positive – especially in math.  And now the textbook says I have to connect math to helping people (p. 139).  What’s next? We all hold hands and sing Kum ba yah? Hahehaheha    ~ISTJ signing off . . .

One response to “Ch 9 Differentiated Math & Science Instruction

  1. The part about connecting math to people might be more helpful before kids get to high school. What the author is trying to convey is that people with a preference for “Feeling” tend to consider other people as they go through their day. While “T” considers facts and logic first, “F” considers people. Therefore, “F” is at a disadvantage when given math that has no relationship to things that are important to them; this is often the cause of math anxiety. The author is suggesting, therefore, that when constructing math problems, a teacher might include a frame of reference to things that affect people instead of just numbers without any useful association. It seems likely that in high school math classes, that is not practical. But if you want to reach those “F” students, you do need to meet them where they live (metaphorically speaking), just as you do naturally with “S” and “T” students. (Does that make sense?)

Leave a Reply

