Daily Observations

During my typical day, when it can be called typical, I work with two students for most of the day. I have decided to observe these students and determine their preferences. From what I can see the students are different on two of the four preferences and are the same two preferences. These two students just like adults and other students can sometimes seem to be one preference one day and another the next day. My conclusions that I have come to about each student were from my observations of both students over the course of two weeks.

            Based on my observations I have determined that Student A is an ISTJ, or prefers extraversion, sensing, thinking, and judging. Student B is an INFJ, or prefers introversion, intuitive, feeling, and judging. Both Student A and Student B have a preference for introversion. I have found that both students prefer to work alone, are annoyed by interruptions, and prefer reading and writing over discussions. Student A often pauses before responding to one-on-one conversations, to which I try to use as little language as possible in a one-on-one situation as to limit the stimulus on the student. Student B can be slow to respond to in class discussions, which is why I often try to give them the topic as far in advance as I can. 

            When it comes to Sensing or Intuition, each student prefers one of each. Student A has a sensing preference. This student interrupts constantly during directions, and often asks questions about either things I was going to say or already said. Brainstorming is something that Student A struggles with on a daily basis, whether it is for a project or a writing prompt. Kise mentions that students “May ask, ‘Did that really happen?’” which made me giggle while I read it because Student A asks this constantly. Student B has an intuition preference. Student B never reads the directions, even when prompted to and starts to work immediately. This student makes many careless mistakes, including forgetting to put their name on things, as well as misspelling words that are usually either on the paper or in the reading. Finally this student frequently has the tendency to come up with project ideas that are so broad there is no way to complete it in the allotted time.

            Moving on to the thinking and feeling preferences, Student A has a thinking preference vs. Student B has a feeling preference. Student A always finds the flaw whether it be in my directions, or on an assignment, and can be quite the critic. This student has the need to be in charge of things, they often try to mimic myself, or other teachers, and try to control other students. This is a goal we have been working on, when it is expected to take charge of things, and when it is unexpected, telling the difference and choosing the right course of action. Student A frequently shuts down when they do not have self-confidence on a given task. Student B also shuts down frequently, but only when they believe that a teacher does not like them. I have found that this mostly occurs when I am working with her when I am holding her accountable to the class expectations. This student takes critiques to heart and takes them as indications that someone does not like her, rather than constructive criticism. This student also becomes visibly upset when they notice disrespect in the classroom, or when they have been disrespectful.

            Lastly, but not least come the judging and perceiving preferences. Here is where I found the second similarity between my two students. Student A is most certainly prefers the judging preference. This student rushes through their work in order to complete and move on. When I mention going back to double check math problems, or editing their writing, I encounter a lot of resistance. Changes in schedules or the daily routine are often a struggle, but with the right set up this student works through these adjustments. This student also dislikes unclear expectations which can then through off their whole day from that point on. Student B also has a judging preference. This student shuts down when asked to go back and look over or fix their work. Student B is very resistant to changing their method or format for task completion. New resources are also a struggle for this student, they have the mind set of their way is the only way and they do not need to learn any new ways.

            I have learned a lot since reading about what to look for in regards to student preferences from Kise. The reading and my own observations have opened new doors for me as an educator and ways I can differentiate the different aspects of a student’s day.

One response to “Daily Observations

  1. I love that you noticed that student A (the one with Sensing preference) has a hard time with brainstorming. Yes! Coming up with ideas, especially if they perceive the desire for creativity, is very difficult. It might help if you differentiate for those S kids by asking them to “Make a list of . . .” instead of “Brainstorm for ideas about . . .” Ask both questions and you’ll meet the needs of S and N.

    I’m struck with the similarities of dominant function in these different students. Since they are both “J” it means they extravert their T or F function, so those are the traits in each student that will be noticeable. It also means that they are both dominant in their S or N, which they both also keep hidden since they are introverts. It’s a great example of how very different two people can be. (Does this make sense to you?)

Leave a Reply

