The Wicked Witch of HCS

The Wicked Witch of HCS

It was one of those days.  Nothing seemed to be going right.  It was the day that I forgot personality types and retreated into my own personality.  My INFJ wanted quiet and time to meditate on what could be and needed to be.  I could have done it, too, if I didn’t have all those kids hanging around me.  Sigh!

Gone were the choices, the multiple modes of giving directions, the tolerance for children who need to talk to process, and gone were the patient replies to children who simply need reassurance that they are on the right track.  Instead there were barked retorts of “Sit down, don’t talk, read silently,” and “I already explained that!”  I even managed to crumble the fragile bridge that was being created with my challenging student when the child did not have a pencil, once again.  Who is this woman whom opened the door of the classroom, and what have you done with Mrs. Spaulding? I looked at the clock. ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGH, it was only 9:00 am.

Thank goodness for the resilience of children.  There was understanding and forgiveness from those children who somehow understood that it would be better tomorrow, and amazingly, it was.

There was also proof that many of the strategies were working.

Leave a Reply

