Differentiation Through Personality Types recommends that educators should try to teach to their opposite personality.  That would mean that I need to look at strategies that would address an ESTP.  By doing this, I would help to reach more students in my classroom.  I decided to change one of my lessons on India to address this different style.

My original lesson was to use a flipchart on the Promethean Board with images of the Indus River Civilization and describe the civilization to the students.  Understanding by Design encourages active problem solving and instruction designed around essential questions.  Two important questions that relate closely to this unit are “How does environment shape how the Indian people live and work?  And “How do we know about ancient cultures?”

First, I displayed the images one and at a time, and I asked each child to make notes on each artifact independently by responding to these questions:  What is this object made of?  What was is used for?  and “What can this artifact tell us about the society from which it came from?  After the children had responded to the artifacts alone, I grouped the children in groups of two or three.  The groups were diverse in personality style.  They moved to sit together and were given chart paper and a different colored marker for each student.  I displayed each item again.  This time the groups discussed their original impressions of the artifacts and each student contributed to the group poster about the object.  Once the posters were done, we once again looked at each image and discussed their impressions of the objects.  Then I shared the scientist’s hypotheses of the objects.

Out of three classes, I only had two students who did not fully engage in the lesson.  Even they accomplished most of it.  I was amazed at the insight of the students.  They accurately identified many of the objects and even recognized that a figurine represented a goddess or religious figure, and that a statue might be a memorial to an important person.  By providing time for self-reflection, movement, discussion and analysis, I believe I managed to address the spectrum of personality types.

 

 

One response to “

  1. It’s exciting when your students exceed expectations — sounds like this lesson was excellent on many different levels! And it seems like a good example to connect with recent class conversations about the teachers working very hard and the students not so much — I think your students were doing a lot of work here!

Leave a Reply

