Going Well!

I am excited and uplifted by all of your experiences in using type to differentiate instruction in your classrooms. I had been convinced by my own work that this kind of differentiation worked, and worked well, but of course there was no opportunity (until now) to share what I had learned.

Our class conversations, your questions, and your suggestions and encouragement toward one another go far beyond my expectations for this course. Now we are winding down, with only one class remaining — there will be much to talk about. (And I promised Robin when I saw her on Saturday that I will bring home baked bread for our snack.)

In class last week we didn’t get to share the strategies from Chapter 6 that you tried out. Since you all agreed to post twice on this blog, that gives you an idea for your first articles. (Yup, that’s a hint!)

7 responses to “Going Well!

  1. watermellonellen2012

    haha…I know everyone is busier than busy with the holidays approaching. My plan is to get some time this weekend to digest what we are learning and how it is applied in practice. I am finding myself more comfortable with kids I may have seen differently before this class. I feel less stressed in trying to convince them to ‘behave’ in any certain way and able to find alternative stratigies for success! Woo-hoo! That even makes me love my job even more than I already do, if that is even possible. Another good day!

  2. I completely agree. It’s cool to think that what we’ve been taught as the “right way” to behave is really just showing preference towards one trait over another.

  3. Jacqui, That opens up a whole lot of conversation! Are “social norms” based on which types outnumber others?

  4. OMG….how time flies…I just finally had some time to respond to posts and it’s been over a week YIKES…I have been using pretty successfully something I read in the book and modified for preschoolers. I call it the Green Card. I explained to the kids that during our meeting time 2 students each day would get a “green” card and have an opportunity to talk during the meeting. While the green card holder is talking the rest of us have to listen. After the student completes their talk, others are encouraged to raise a hand and the green card holder calls on them to ask questions or comment. I have used it for 6 days so far and it’s working. My goal was to allow my introverted students an opportunity to speak and be heard. I wanted my extrovert students to wait if only for a bit to comment and not shout out whatever was on their mind during the meeting. Now when the kids come in they can’t wait to sit at meeting and see who gets a “green”card to talk. At the end of last week I did do some tweaking…Some kids did not have anything to say, especially my introverted students…they only get their green cards right at the meeting time. For this week I assigned them days so they can look ahead and now know what day they have the green card. WHEW>>>I will take a break and continue shortly on my second idea…

  5. I think with your little ones, starting with extravert/introvert is the best choice, and helping those I kids will give them valuable skills, especially at their age! I’m looking forward to hearing about your second idea!

    • So back at the computer early early…My second idea with my extroverts is to try every day to spend time when they first arrive one on one. With some I color, or build and others we play pretend and they really have some stories to tell me then. I sometimes think that they all want my attention and will shout out and say just about anything to get it at any time…I have only done this for a couple of days….but with one “E” for sure she is not as chatty or quick to blurt out questions I ask of others. I also make sure when I hand out the “Green” cards that one goes to an I and the other to an E. That way I keep the attention of the listeners as my “I” may not have as much to say…or some I’s go into really long conversations now that I’ve given them the chance to speak.

  6. This sounds really solid, Robin. I wonder how much time you get with each child . . . it probably doesn’t take as long as it seems. Are there any students you haven’t been able to decide on whether they’re an E or an I?

Leave a Reply

